Meet Danny

013Q4MQH2BNRWMOQFN2VAZIX5CHEQ64JTN
013Q4MQH6ZWTJTO422CBHJG4FM3LM4V3BX

Little bit about Danny, the Rescuoodle

Danny had limited life experience in his previous home and has shown fear of new people and places. He has been lucky enough to be able to stay in a long term foster home, where he has shown that he can form a bond with a person and develop trust, but this can take time. When new people come to visit it is best that he is able to go to his safe place. Danny is used to having a crate to retreat to when he is feeling worried.

He is mostly toilet trained, uses the open dog door in the day, and urinates on a puppy pad at night. He will occasionally urinate inside on dog beds or blankets. He does not like going outside in the rain to toilet. Danny currently sleeps in his crate at night. 

In his current foster home Danny spends 3 days per week at home alone while his carer is at work and appears to manage well. He enjoys having a lick mat or enrichment feed on days he is being left at home. 

Danny enjoys spending time outside, and having a secure outdoor space in his new home is essential. He has lived with other small dogs previously and would do well another small breed dog as a companion in his next home.

While Danny can walk on lead, he can become overwhelmed, so walks need to be kept short and in familiar areas only. Walks are not an essential requirement for Danny, and if he may prefer to just spend time with people he knows in his own home.

 Danny has allergic skin disease and needs to have year round flea control, and is currently on apoquel and cortisone. He has recently commenced a food trial to see if his skin disease can be controlled with diet rather than medication, however it is likely he will require some level of medication on going.

He is also on medication for his anxiety and will need to remain on this medication long term. His current skin medication and behaviour medication costs approx $200 per month.

It is essential that Danny’s new owner is committed to providing whatever treatment is required to keep his skin disease under control. Uncontrolled skin disease can be challenging for both the pet and owner, and Danny shows signs of behavioural stress when his skin is not being effectively managed.

Danny enjoys the company of other small breed dogs and if his new family are away from home for long hours he will need another dog for company.

Danny is staying in foster care, so if you would like to find out more or arrange a meet please complete and Expression of interest form here

 

Requirement for Dannys new home

 

Quiet household with no children under 12 years

Access to a suitable outdoor space

Commitment to managing his medical and behavioural concerns

Another small breed dog preferred

Danny’s Information

Animal ID: 603198

Breed: Maltese

Age: 2 Years 2 Months

Sex: Male

Size: Small

Type: Dog

Colour: Tan

Location: Sydney Adoption Centre

RON: R251000223

Health Check

Microchip

Worming

Desexing

Share Danny’s Profile

Where to find Danny

Sydney Adoption Centre

201 Rookwood Rd

Yagoona
NSW 2199

Opening hours:

Animal adoptions and visitation times:
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 9:30am – 3:30pm
Wednesday: 9:30am – 3:30pm
Thursday: 9:30am – 3:30pm
Friday: 9:30am – 3:30pm
Saturday: 9:30am – 3:30pm
Sunday: 9:30am – 3:30pm

Similar animals to Danny